The Goshen Historical Society logo is not a fictitious place. It’s a real store in historic downtown Goshen, Indiana. The building was constructed as part of a block of retail stores by Charles A. Harper during 1888. In this particular building he had “a first class boot and shoe establishment” according to newspaper accounts at the time.
By 1906 a balcony was added at the back of the store. A modern front was built with show windows on each side of a centered entry door.
Second generation Adams’ continued the “dry goods” establishment. In addition, the store became the official distributor for Boy Scout merchandise.
In 1997, the property was purchased by the Goshen Historical Society. The Society replaced the heating/cooling system, the plumbing and lighting. Volunteers cleaned the original cabinetry and showcases and brought in items that tell the story of the city of Goshen.
Thanks to the vision of some Goshen historians, the Adams name has not been replaced. It continues in the name, “Goshen Historical Museum, The Adams Store.”